And I Will Sing for Your Father

Spent most of my day with a friend, her children and her very ill father. A small poem wanted out this evening. It wants to be sung, but I don’t have the notes yet.

And I Will Sing for Your Father

And I will sing for you father
Although I know him not,
And I will call you sister
Despite the truth- you’re not,
And I will hold your children
And stoke their shiny hair.
They may not call me Mama
But I will still be there-
‘Cause there’s a greater truth than bloodlines
And there’s a stronger love than names.
The world may not call us family
Still we are just the same.

Categories: poetry | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “And I Will Sing for Your Father

  1. annyswolf

    that’s beautiful!

  2. This is really, really wonderful. Nice job.

  3. Lu

    I love your poem; it is beautiful and I am amazed at your creativity in the face of sadness.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

